Beauty · Family · Health · Lifestyle

Happiness, my non negotiables list!

We all have the things we have to do to keep us on the right side of happy, Katie from pouting in heels  introduced the idea of a non negotioables list and I was tagged by Aimee from Mum Amie to create my own!

Number 1 on my list is my 15 minutes a day rule.  Im addicted to coffee but I’m also a lover of fancy teas and every day I have a 15 minute just for me tea break with a gorgeous cuppa and a good book.  At the minute I’m reading Flowers in the attic by V.C.Andrews and my tea of choice has been birthday cake from the bluebird tea company!

 

Number 2 is to surround myself with images I love looking at.  I’ve created a gallery wall in our living room with pictures of us and our kids over the years as well as a few inspirational quotes. It’s something that I’ve loved doing and will keep adding to it as time goes on.  I’ve also recently started actually buying the art prints I love instead of just admiring them from afar so I’m creating my own little gallery of happiness that I can lose myself in!

Number 3 is to take time to look after myself.  Yes I love a long bath with a glass of wine but the baths a necessity and I can take or leave the wine but my none negotiable is to take my 5 minutes twice a day to stick to a good skincare routine.  It might sound silly but I feel amazing when I have fresh clean skin! Then my fresh clean skin and put a bit of make up on.  No not a full face of slap daily but at least some mascara and CC cream, it makes me feel good.  I don’t do it for anyone else and to be honest I doubt anyone else would notice day to day this is just for me!



 

Number 4 is to take time to write things down.  I’ve always found it very cathartic to write down my thoughts and regularly kept a journal and now it’s one of the biggest reasons I started this blog.  It gives me a bit more me time and makes me feel like I have a purpose other than being mummy!

20160228_095002-1-1.jpg

Number 5 is to just watch, having 5 kids it can be so easy to miss the little things.  Time goes by so quickly and I want to remember and cherish all those moments that pass by so fast! It’s so easy to always be looking at your phone or ipad or be so engrossed in your own problems that you just don’t see what’s going on around you.  I often have to check myself to put down my phone and put aside the worries and stresses of daily life just to see whats right in front of me, I’ve put this on the list as even though I still catch myself picking up my phone too often or worrying about the small things I recognise that I’m so much happier when I do that it really is non negotiable!

cropped-edited_1445852678946.jpg

I’m passing the non negotiables list fever onto

Amber at Goblin Child

Kate at The Less Refined Mind

Sam at Stressed Mum

Jo at Being Amber’s Mum

Emily at Raising Satan

See you next time,

Em xXx

One thought on “Happiness, my non negotiables list!

Leave a comment